arugula salad.

upclose saladSince it’s really just my hubs and I, it’s not often we cook big meals.  And when we do, we’ll have leftovers for days.  I’ve been thinking of ways to make  our meals healthier, cater to our busy schedules, and attract our different tastes.  Lance is a meat and potatoes kind of guy and I’m more organic and have been cutting back on my meat intake.  Since we are both on the go during the day I wanted to create something light, tasty, and will hold up well if not eaten right away.

Arugula with Israeli Couscous salad:

Ingredients (makes 2-4 servings):

  • 1 cup Couscous:  follow cooking instructions on package
  • 1 small bag of pre-washed Arugula:
  • 2 small mini bell peppers, diced ( I used 1 yellow and 1 red)
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • Handful of grape tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 lemon
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Dash of Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon of honey
  • About 3 tablespoons of good olive oil

{I followed directions on the Couscous package and tossed it with the arugula, diced bell peppers, diced avocado, and grape tomatoes.  I juiced 1 lemon and whisked in the olive oil, also adding in salt and pepper to taste.  I added a splash of balsamic vinegar and a dash of honey to the dressing.  I tossed the salad and vinaigrette together and voila!  Yummy goodness!  I love this simple dressing, gives just enough flavor and coats the arugula well.  I went with arugula as it doesn’t wilt quickly and it has a lemon/peppery taste}
This is perfect to pack for lunch or for a light dinner.  You could also have the option to add some protein.  Either some kidney beans to give it a buttery taste or  sliced grilled chicken.
arugula salad

Leave a Reply

