Blush and gold tassel key chain.

tassel 5Blush and gold is one of my favorite color schemes.  Pair these two together and you can’t go wrong.  I keep seeing the cutest key chains at coach, kate spade, and other fine stores but I felt I could tackle this project myself.  I used this tutorial over at LovelyIndeed blog, you can get step by step instructions there.  I revamped mine a bit and added a little gold twist to it.  I am absolutely in love with it and I’m sure my keys enjoy dressing up too!  I have also clipped it to a clutch of mine and revived that as well!  So many options!
tassel 1I started out by cutting my strip of leather (or faux leather) to 10 inches x 4 1/2 inches.  I then wanted to spruce it up by modge podging gold leaf to it.  I added gold leaf all the way across the leather leaving about an inch at the top without gold leaf.  I intentionally scattered the gold leaf imperfectly.  I liked that it had an organic feel to it!
tassel 2After I let the gold leaf dry (about an hour), I brushed a very light coat of modge podge on top of the gold leaf to set it.  I also made sure I lightly removed any excess gold leaf.
tassel 3I sliced each section with about 1/4 of an inch space between each cut and left  roughly an inch on top uncut.
tassel 4I then used super glue to adhere the clip attached to the strip of leather and started to roll the fringe leather around that piece.  As you can see I opted for a clip rather than a key ring.  I felt like it would be more versatile.
tassel 6And voila! Isn’t it pretty!  Obsessed.

photo
Love this key chain and want to dress up your keys?  Guess what… I made an extra one!
Two ways to enter:
1)  Follow me on Instagram (crewandlu), repost this pic with #crewandlu (also tag me @crewandlu)
OR
2)  Follow my blog and leave a comment on this post!

Winner will be announced Friday 03/29! Xoxo

: Congrats to Christina C.!  We’ll be in touch 😉

6 thoughts on “Blush and gold tassel key chain.

  1. Uyennie!!!! I am so proud of you for creating such a wonderful blog…it is super cute…this keychain is amaze!!!

Leave a Reply

